The Keepers #2: The Harp and the Ravenvine (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
The Keepers #2: The Harp and the Ravenvine Cover Image
By Ted Sanders, Iacopo Bruno (Illustrator)
$16.99
In our warehouse - should ship in 2-5 business days.

Other Books in Series

This is book number 2 in the Keepers series.

Staff Reviews


A fantastic follow-up to a near-perfect book--so good, in fact, that I loved it more than the first--how is that even possible? In The Harp and the Ravenvine, we follow more (dangerous) adventures of Keepers Horace and Chloe, and we meet a new Keeper, April, whose Tan'ji holds a most spectacular power, even as it draws danger closer to the Warren and the rest of the Keepers. Sanders uses brilliant pacing and some of the strongest character building (and most delightfully terrible villains) I've met in a novel to masterfully construct a world where bright children form bonds with singular objects that are sought after (and fought for) by an ancient, merciless people.
This series is perfect for readers who love the depth and detail of Harry Potter and the off-kilter, dark fantasy of Neil Gaiman. 

— Hannah

Description


Horace F. Andrews and his friend Chloe are Keepers of magical objects of extraordinary power.  But as the presence of a new Keeper is made known, they are drawn into a struggle to find out who she is and where her loyalties lie. A gripping sequel to The Box and the Dragonfly, the first book in Ted Sanders’s Keepers series, hailed by the New York Times Book Review as a “satisfying and original quest tale.” 

As Horace and Chloe adjust to their newfound talents—Horace can see the future and Chloe can walk through walls—a girl called April is drawn toward the Keeper stronghold, the Warren. She comes with a Tan’ji of her own, though it is damaged and there is no telling what will happen if it cannot be made whole again. Accompanied by a mysterious woman with a power of her own and the young boy leading them in the right direction, April is being pursued by a pack of sinister hunters. Will she reach the Warren in time, and will it offer safety or only more danger?

Ted Sanders’s series has the feel of classic fantasy with a science fiction twist, and this second book, The Harp and the Ravenvine, will thrill readers with adventure, intrigue, and the unexpected at every turn.

About the Author


Ted Sanders is the author of the short-story collection No Animals We Could Name, winner of the 2011 Bakeless Prize for fiction. His stories and essays have appeared in publications such as the Georgia Review, the Gettysburg Review, and The PEN/O. Henry Prize Stories anthology. A recipient of a 2012 National Endowment for the Arts Literature Fellowship, he lives with his family in Urbana, Illinois, and teaches at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. The Keepers is his first series for younger readers. You can visit him online at www.tedsanders.net.



Iacopo Bruno is a graphic designer and illustrator. He is also the illustrator of the acclaimed books Mesmerized: How Ben Franklin Solved a Mystery that Baffled All of France and Anything But Ordinary Addie, both by Mara Rockliff. He lives and works in Milan, Italy, with his wife, Francesca. Learn more about Iacopo at www.theworldofdot.com and www.iacopobruno.blogspot.it.

Praise For…


Praise for The Keepers: The Box and the Dragonfly: “An epic adventure of self-discovery, magic, tragedy and blurred lines of loyalty for middle-grade lovers of fantasy.”
— Kirkus Reviews

“The magical world is full of detail and wonder. Fans of Harry Potter and Gregor the Overlander will find this one entertaining.”
— School Library Journal

“Sanders uses mystery, action, and suspense to intrigue readers. A rousing start for the Keepers series.”
— ALA Booklist

“Ted Sanders combines elements of the best classic fantasy adventures with ingenious twists that are all his own.”
— Caroline Carlson, author of The Very Nearly Honorable League of Pirates series

The Keepers is a wildly original adventure, electric-paced and brain-bending, that will enthrall kids and adults alike. It’s more than a fantasy, building physics and folklore into its search to answer questions about whether true magic can ever exist.”
— Soman Chainani, author of the New York Times bestselling series, The School for Good and Evil
Product Details
ISBN: 9780062275851
ISBN-10: 0062275852
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication Date: March 1st, 2016
Pages: 672
Language: English
Series: Keepers