Flyaway (Paperback)

Flyaway Cover Image
$7.99
Unavailable

Description


“So good I read it in one sitting.” –Han Nolan, National Book Award finalist

Girl loves Mom. Mom loves meth. Stevie Calhoun is fifteen, and she can take care of herself. Her mom has disappeared before, but this time Aunt Mindy is making Stevie stay with her. Whatever. Stevie will pack up her camouflage pants and red high heels and go live with Aunt Mindy . . . for now. But she’ll also make sure her mom comes back and promises never to see Drake and his white powder again. A powerful mix of humor and heartbreak!

About the Author


HELEN LANDALF is a novelist from Seattle, Washington. Visit her website at www.helenlandalf.com.

Praise For…


"Watching Stevie, a loving person at heart, struggle with her freshman year, family, friendships, and her future during her time at her aunt’s in Seattle is ultimately encouraging, and the fact that she wonders how she is supposed to worry about college when she doesn’t "even know where [she’ll] be living next week" is both authentic and relatively—and refreshingly—tame compared to the extreme dilemmas faced by so many troubled teens in similar titles."—Booklist" Flyaway is so good I read it in one sitting. I had intended to set it aside for later, but I read the first sentence, and then the next, and by then it was too late; I was hooked!"—Han Nolan, National Book Award winner "Fans of Ellen Hopkins and Jay Asher: Prepare to fall in love with debut novelist Helen Landalf. Filled with bighearted love and gritty realism, Flyaway rings with bittersweet truth."—Justina Chen, author of North of Beautiful "For teens who want a realistic story but not the heft and extreme grittiness of Ellen Hopkins."—Kirkus
Product Details
ISBN: 9780547855011
ISBN-10: 054785501X
Publisher: Clarion Books
Publication Date: October 23rd, 2012
Pages: 176
Language: English