Internment (Library Binding)

Staff Pick Badge
Internment Cover Image
$24.99
In our warehouse - should ship in 5-7 business days.

Staff Reviews


What if what we thought could NEVER happen in modern America, the internment of a group of people because of their religion, actually happened. How soon we forget Manzanar and the internment of Japanese Americans during WWII. Internment is about Layla a normal high school student who has loving parents and a great boyfriend. Suddenly her life is turned upside down when she and her parents are forcibly removed from their home and sent to Mobius. Her new "home" has everything an internee should want: Community, Fences, Opportunity, Razor Wire, Recreation, Guns, a Garden and Dust. Layla decides she must resist. Readers who like The Hunger Games, The Hate You Give and The Book Thief will love this book.

— Ellen Jackson

Spring 2019 Kids Indie Next List


The Hate U Give meets The Handmaid’s Tale in this slightly futuristic and dystopian version of America in which Muslim Americans are placed in internment camps. Ahmed’s book starts out with Layla describing how the real-life statements and policies of Trump’s America led from our current world to the horror of the book. Internment shines in showing not only Layla and her friends’ resistance, but also the life and humor the characters exude, even during their darkest days. A revelation that deserves as much recognition and praise as Angie Thomas’ debut work.”
— Christine Stamper, Bookbug, Kalamazoo, MI

Product Details
ISBN: 9781432869328
ISBN-10: 1432869329
Publisher: Thorndike Striving Reader
Publication Date: September 25th, 2019
Language: English