Tofu Takes Time (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Badge
Tofu Takes Time By Helen H. Wu, Julie Jarema (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Helen H. Wu, Julie Jarema (Illustrator)
$18.99
May be on our shelves or available in 5-10 business days
15 on hand, as of Dec 9 7:03pm

Staff Reviews


Tofu Takes Time is about tofu, of course--but it's also about ritual, perseverance, stories, and family bonds. Families of all cultures will identify with the way the little girl in the story is by turns restless with and mesmerized by the preparation process. I couldn't help but smile to see her joyful pride after having successfully--and patiently!--made tofu with her beloved grandmother. Wu's writing is rhythmic and lovely; the repetition provides the perfect cadence for story time with littles. Jarema's illustrations are whimsical and vibrant, conjuring the warmth that accompanies our most beloved family traditions. Five stars. 

— Janet

"Good things take time" is commonly said, but in our hurry-hurry times, impatience rules more often than not. Tofu Takes Time is the antidote as it celebrates the good, slow things: patience, home-cooked meals, and the conversations and stories that nurture intergenerational ties. The rhythmic, contemplative text is delightful to read aloud, and the expressive, expansive illustrations immerse readers in warmth and imagination. A beautiful book with a delicious denouement.

— Hannah DeCamp

Description


All good things--and foods--take time, as Lin learns in this beautifully illustrated story about patience, family, and a good home-cooked meal.

CLICK CLACK WHIRRRR . . . Lin and her grandma, NaiNai, are making tofu from scratch When NaiNai goes through each step, from blending soybeans with water to molding curd into shape, Lin gradually becomes impatient. But she soon discovers that making tofu not only takes time, but also takes the whole universe It takes the seed from soil and sunshine, the cloth from thread and fiber, weight and space, books of words and pictures. And most of all, it takes spending lovely time with her beloved grandmother.

In this charming tale by Helen H. Wu, readers will marvel at how patience brings a whole universe together in a simple dish made by a modern Chinese American family. Perfect for fans of Fry Bread, Drawn Together and Thank You, Omu.

Product Details
ISBN: 9781506480350
ISBN-10: 1506480357
Publisher: Beaming Books
Publication Date: April 19th, 2022
Pages: 1
Language: English