F*ck Your Diet: And Other Things My Thighs Tell Me (Hardcover)

Pre-Order Now Badge
F*ck Your Diet: And Other Things My Thighs Tell Me Cover Image
$27.00
Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now

Staff Reviews


I usually don't laugh out loud while reading but this book had me at a whole new level. Hilliard weaves her journalism background with her messy childhood to produce a surprisingly well-researched memoir filled with food and admirable naiveté. I loved getting a glimpse into her hilarious, insightful world.

— Christy

Description


Fans of Issa Rae and Phoebe Robinson will love this collection of laugh-out-loud funny and insightful essays that explore race, feminism, pop culture, and how society reinforces the message that we are nothing without the perfect body.

By the time Chloé Hilliard was 12, she wore a size 12—both shoe and dress—and stood over six feet tall. Fitting in was never an option. That didn’t stop her from trying. Cursed with a “slow metabolism,” “baby weight,” and “big bones,”—the fat trilogy—Chloe turned to fad diets, starvation, pills, and workouts, all of which failed.

Realizing that everything—from government policies to corporate capitalism—directly impacts our relationship with food and our waistlines, Chloé changed her outlook on herself and hopes others will do the same for themselves.

The perfect mix of cultural commentary, conspiracies, and confessions, F*ck Your Diet pokes fun at the all too familiar, misguided quest for better health, permanent weight loss, and a sense of self-worth.

About the Author


Chloé Hilliard is a writer and comedian who first appeared as a semi-finalist on NBC’s Last Comic Standing and went on to appear on The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon, Comedy Central, MTV, VH1, and more. Prior to her comedy career, she was a culture and entertainment journalist whose work has been featured in The Village VoiceEssenceVibe, and The Source. Find out more at ChloeHilliard.com. 

Praise For…


"Chloé is the hilarious voice of reason we all need right now. I’m very grateful for this book." —Amy Schumer

"Smart, inspiring and hilarious. Chloé lets it all hang out. We should too.” —Wanda Sykes

“A heartfelt, amusing essay collection…The author’s self-love message will resonate with readers who appreciate narratives of personal and professional fulfillment.”—Publishers Weekly

“A witty, whip-smart exploration of the ways society has screwed up the way we see our bodies. Chloé blends together comedy and journalism in exciting and entertaining fashion. If only I could go back and time and give this book to my younger, less secure self.” --Franchesca Ramsey, host of MTV’s Decoded & author of Well, That Escalated Quickly

"Hysterical and honest, Chloé Hilliard holds nothing back in this f*cking JOY of a read!" —Jes Baker, author and creator of the Militant Baker

"F*ck Your Diet is the perfect recipe of raw humor, fresh insight, and sharp honesty. This book will disrupt your thinking on food, identity, and society. More important, it will inspire you to reimagine yourself and the world on more loving and humane terms. This offering marks Chloé Hilliard's emergence as one of the most important and original voices of her generation." —Marc Lamont Hill, Professor of Media Studies, Temple University and Host of BET News 
Product Details
ISBN: 9781982108618
ISBN-10: 1982108614
Publisher: Gallery Books
Publication Date: January 7th, 2020
Pages: 336