Search form

Laurel Snyder: ORPHAN ISLAND


Event date: 
Friday, June 16, 2017 - 6:30pm to 7:30pm

Event Location

1662 S. Lumpkin St.
Athens, GA 30606

Avid Bookshop presents our friend and Atlanta author Laurel Snyder on Friday, June 16, 2017, in celebration of her book middle grade book Orphan Island. This event will run from 6:30pm to 7:30pm at the Five Points bookshop. There is no admission charge.

Our Young Readers' Book Club selection for the July 2nd meeting is Orphan Island

ABOUT THE BOOK: 

For readers who loved Sara Pennypacker's Pax and Lois Lowry's The Giver comes a deep, compelling, heartbreaking, and completely one-of-a-kind novel about nine children who live on a mysterious island.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

Laurel Snyder is a poet, essayist, and author of picture books and novels for children, including Orphan Island, The Longest Night, Bigger Than a Bread Box, and Seven Stories Up. She is also the editor of the nonfiction anthology Half/Life: Jew-ish Tales from Interfaith Homes, a graduate of the Iowa Writers' Workshop, and a commentator for NPR's All Things Considered. She lives in Atlanta with her family and can be found online at www.laurelsnyder.com.

Staff Pick Badge
Orphan Island Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062443410
Availability: Unavailable
Published: Walden Pond Press - May 30th, 2017

The Longest Night: A Passover Story Cover Image
By Laurel Snyder, Catia Chien (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780375869426
Availability: Unavailable
Published: Schwartz & Wade - February 12th, 2013

Staff Pick Badge
Bigger than a Bread Box Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780375873256
Availability: Unavailable
Published: Yearling - September 11th, 2012

Staff Pick Badge
Seven Stories Up Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780375873263
Availability: Unavailable
Published: Yearling - April 28th, 2015

Staff Pick Badge
Charlie & Mouse: Book 1 (Classic Children’s Book, Illustrated Books for Children) Cover Image
By Laurel Snyder, Emily Hughes (Illustrator)
$14.99
ISBN: 9781452131535
Availability: In our warehouse - should ship in 5-7 business days.
Published: Chronicle Books - April 11th, 2017

View More Upcoming Events

Wednesday, May 18, 2022 - 6:15pm to 7:15pm
The Swimmers by Julie Otsuka
Thursday, June 9, 2022 - 6:15pm to 7:15pm
Somebody Loves You by Mona Arshi
Wednesday, June 15, 2022 - 6:15pm to 7:15pm
Magpie Murders by Anthony Horowitz
Wednesday, June 15, 2022 - 6:15pm to 7:15pm