Preorder - Adult


Have an upcoming title you're excited about? Let us preorder that for you. Search above for any title or find something to look forward to below.

Browse our kids and young adult book preorders

My Dark Vanessa: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780062941503
Availability: May be on our shelves or available in 5-7 business days
Published: William Morrow - March 10th, 2020

My Dark Vanessa is riveting, nauseating, fascinating, and propulsive. I had trouble putting it down and have been thinking about it ever since I read the final sentence. —Janet


The Mirror & the Light (Wolf Hall Trilogy #3) Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9780805096606
Availability: May be on our shelves or available in 5-7 business days
Published: Henry Holt and Co. - March 10th, 2020

With The Mirror & the Light, Hilary Mantel brings to a triumphant close the trilogy she began with Wolf Hall and Bring Up the Bodies. She traces the final years of Thomas Cromwell, the boy from nowhere who climbs to the heights of power, offering a defining portrait of predator and prey, of a ferocious contest between present and past, between royal will and a common man’s vision: of a modern nation making itself through conflict, passion, and courage.


Staff Pick Badge
Pride of Eden: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781250203816
Availability: In our warehouse - should ship in 5-7 business days.
Published: St. Martin's Press - March 17th, 2020

It’s hard to explain mankind’s connection to wild animals, the desire for some to possess and capture, other’s deep need to protect and conserve. In Pride of Eden, Brown illustrates what happens when we hit a crisis regarding our treatment of exotic game. It’s a compelling story featuring as many four-legged characters as humans. —Rachel

P.S. Avid is hosting Taylor Brown on March 31!


The City We Became: A Novel (The Great Cities Trilogy #1) Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780316509848
Availability: May be on our shelves or available in 5-7 business days
Published: Orbit - March 24th, 2020

Athens has shown SO much love for N.K. Jemisin and we cannot wait for this trilogy that meshes science fiction with the class and racial tensions in a world similar to NYC.


Wow, No Thank You.: Essays Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9780525563488
Availability: In our warehouse - should ship in 5-7 business days.
Published: Vintage - March 31st, 2020

Irby is back with another set of essays that will make you laugh, cringe, and nod your head in agreement, all at once.


Pre-Order Now Badge
The Roxy Letters: A Novel Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781982121433
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Simon & Schuster - April 7th, 2020

This epistolary novel is a lot of fun—you may cringe if you identify with Roxy occasionally. Sexy, thoughtful, and funny, this is a quick read with a lot of heart. —Janet


Pre-Order Now Badge
Afterlife Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9781643750255
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Algonquin Books - April 7th, 2020

Meditative and beautifully brief story about the families that we're born into, the ones that we lose, and the ones that form around us. It's a call to action for those of us who are just as literary and reluctant as Antonia, one that will inspire action to stave away the chaos with bravery, kindness, and love.— Luis


Pre-Order Now Badge
Five Days: The Fiery Reckoning of an American City Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780525512363
Availability: Not Yet Published - You can preorder 120 days before the publication date.
Published: One World - September 14th, 2020

In April 2015, Freddie Gray was arrested by Baltimore police and thrown into the back of a van. By the time he arrived at the station, he was in a coma from which he would never wake. His death sparked five days of riots that shook Baltimore to its core and brought national attention to the ugly history of police brutality against Black Americans. This is the story of the uprising through the eyes of seven Baltimoreans whose lives have been changed by this violence.


Pre-Order Now Badge
Bubblegum: A Novel Cover Image
$29.95
ISBN: 9780385544962
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Doubleday - April 14th, 2020

This book is wild - check out Ian's even more wild review.


Pre-Order Now Badge
Death in Her Hands: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781984879356
Availability: Not Yet Published - You can preorder 120 days before the publication date.
Published: Penguin Press - August 11th, 2020

Moshfegh is back with an ultra dark novel about a woman, walking her dog, who encounters a note about a dead body, and lets the death completely consumer her life.


Pre-Order Now Badge
Take Me Apart: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780374272616
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: MCD - April 28th, 2020

Sligar's novel is one of suspense and intrigue, but more importantly it reset's the narrative or women's mental health and credibility in their work. I loved the novel's commentary on art and photography, and thought the current running through the book comparing Kate and Miranda's unraveling mental health to the act of archiving was brilliant. — Christy


Pre-Order Now Badge
Conditional Citizens: On Belonging in America Cover Image
$25.95
ISBN: 9781524747169
Availability: Not Yet Published - You can preorder 120 days before the publication date.
Published: Pantheon - September 22nd, 2020

National Book Award finalist Laila Lalami brings her characteristic storytelling to non-fiction, discussing how the "boundaries of Americanness" prevail in America today.


Pre-Order Now Badge
Latitudes of Longing: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780593132555
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: One World - May 19th, 2020

Part fairy tale, part love letter to the earth, this wondrous book from a new voice will leave you breathless. It weaves together the interconnected stories of unforgettable characters ranging from a scientist to a clairvoyant, a yeti to a turtle, and the ghost of an evaporated ocean.


Pre-Order Now Badge
All Adults Here: A Novel Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781594634697
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Riverhead Books - May 4th, 2020

In All Adults Here, Emma Straub's unique alchemy of wisdom, humor, and insight come together in a deeply satisfying story about adult siblings, aging parents, high school boyfriends, middle school mean girls, the lifelong effects of birth order, and all the other things that follow us into adulthood, whether we like them to or not.


Pre-Order Now Badge
My Mother's House: A novel Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9780525657156
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Knopf - May 12th, 2020

For fans of Edwidge Danticat, Mehsin Hamid, Kate Atkinson, and Jesmyn Ward: a literary thriller about the complex underbelly of the immigrant American dream and the dangerous ripple effect one person's damages can have on the lives of others--told unexpectedly by a house that has held unspeakable horrors.
 


Pre-Order Now Badge
Eat a Peach: A Memoir Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781524759216
Availability: Not Yet Published - You can preorder 120 days before the publication date.
Published: Clarkson Potter - September 14th, 2020

In 2004, Momofuku Noodle Bar opened in a tiny, stark space in Manhattan’s East Village. Its young chef-owner, David Chang, worked the line, serving ramen and pork buns to a mix of fellow restaurant cooks and confused diners whose idea of ramen was instant noodles in Styrofoam cups. It would have been impossible to know it at the time—and certainly Chang would have bet against himself—but he, who had failed at almost every endeavor in his life, was about to become one of the most influential chefs of his generation, driven by the question, “What if the underground could become the mainstream?”


Pre-Order Now Badge
The Lying Life of Adults Cover Image
By Elena Ferrante, Ann Goldstein (Translator)
$26.00
ISBN: 9781609455910
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Europa Editions - September 1st, 2020

Prepare yourself for another sweeping novel by Ferrante - set in a Naples torn in two. Giovanna is coming of age in a city dvided trying to find purpose and resolution in this tumultuous setting.


Pre-Order Now Badge
Broken People Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781335013934
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Hanover Square Press - June 9th, 2020

Sam's life has imploded and he is looking for total transformation. So, of course, he looks to a place that promises him a three-day fix, finding so much more than what he intended. Broken People is a journey into the nature of truth and fiction--a story of discovering hope amid cynicism, intimacy within chaos and peace in our own skin.


Pre-Order Now Badge
Nothing Can Hurt You Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9781635574883
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Bloomsbury Publishing - June 23rd, 2020

A thrilling read that looks at a the impact a young woman's death has on a community - inspired by a true story.