Search form

ATTENTION: Credit card payments will be unavailable for online checkout beginning Wednesday, September 30, at 4:00pm until midday October 1. To order at that time please select PayPal at checkout or call (706) 850-2843 from 11am-4pm on October 1.

Hannah DeCamp

Hannah is Avid's manager of children's books--she gets to buy all of the kids' books for both shops, do storytimes, and bring books and authors into local schools. A librarian at heart (and in training), she loves magical, immersive stories for all ages and from all corners of the world!

My Staff Picks: 
Staff Pick Badge
Skunk and Badger (Skunk and Badger 1) Cover Image
By Amy Timberlake, Jon Klassen (Illustrator)
$18.95
ISBN: 9781643750057
Availability: May be on our shelves or available in 5-7 business days
Published: Algonquin Young Readers - September 15th, 2020

Equal parts Odd Couple and Frog and Toad, this gem of a book is a hilariously heartfelt tale of an opposites-attract friendship. Ideally this book should be read aloud, bringing to life Timberlake's delightful turns of phrase ("Skunk tip-clawed away," etc.) and cozy brownstone setting, with a Moon Room, a candle-lit breakfast table (the nicest meal!), and LOTS of chickens. Klassen's atmospheric illustrations heighten the deadpan, Lobel-esque mood, evoking classic kids' books but with a wholly modern vibe.


Staff Pick Badge
Piranesi Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781635575637
Availability: May be on our shelves or available in 5-7 business days
Published: Bloomsbury Publishing - September 15th, 2020

Both clausterphobic and expansive, Piranesi echoes with lonelieness, lost memories, and cruelty. Lest that make this book sound depressing, it is anything but—it plunges the reader into the depths of human resilience, the ability to remember what we have forgotten. For fans of Le Guin, Borges, Calvino, and anyone who already loves Clarke's mesmerizing world-building.


Staff Pick Badge
A Whale of the Wild Cover Image
By Rosanne Parry, Lindsay Moore (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062995926
Availability: May be on our shelves or available in 5-7 business days
Published: Greenwillow Books - September 1st, 2020

With sensitivity and wonder, Parry immerses readers in the underwater world of orcas—incredible creatures with strong family ties and matriarchal leadership. Seeing the world from the eyes of young Vega and her brother Deneb is both astonishing and sobering—readers are plunged into a fight for survival as the two killer whales endure shortages of food, a natural disaster, and the ever-present environmental damages wrought by humans. The plot moves seamlessly even as the book educates readers on the lives of orcas and the need for a balanced ecosystem. Highly recommended to anyone who loves adventure stories or who has a deep curiosity about the world!


Staff Pick Badge
Vesper Flights Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9780802128812
Availability: May be on our shelves or available in 5-7 business days
Published: Grove Press - August 25th, 2020

In one of the essays in this stunning book, the author refers to a scientist who as a child "had a talent for connecting things that were not obvious to others"—this phrase just as easily describes what Macdonald does with her writing. She weaves toegether seemingly disparate topics—Brexit and bird migration; migraines and climate change—reminding the reader that there are relationships everywhere, if only we look for them. Reading Vesper Flights is like putting on a pair of glasses that completely transforms your vision—everything goes from blurry smudges to crisp, clear beauty.


Staff Pick Badge
You Matter Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534421691
Availability: May be on our shelves or available in 5-7 business days
Published: Atheneum Books for Young Readers - June 2nd, 2020

This love song to the universe is pure magic. Spanning geologic time in just a few spreads, the refrain of “you matter” applies not just to the earth itself but to the asteroid crashing into it (“if you fall down”). As the scope narrows humanward, the poignancy of Robinson’s message hits home—all life is interconnected and valuable, from the smallest to the largest and the youngest to the oldest. A perfect gift for a new baby or for anyone who just needs to hear: You Matter.


Staff Pick Badge
The Moon Keeper Cover Image
By Zosienka, Zosienka (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062959522
Availability: In our warehouse - should ship in 5-7 business days.
Published: HarperCollins - March 10th, 2020

The Moon Keeper is Emile, who takes his job very seriously—he shoos away the clouds and bats and keeps the moon company. But what is he to do when the moon starts getting smaller? This gentle lunar tale works well as a quiet bedtime story and as an introduction to the phases of the moon. Patience, readers will find, can be very rewarding.


Staff Pick Badge
How to Find a Bird Cover Image
By Jennifer Ward, Diana Sudyka (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781481467056
Availability: May be on our shelves or available in 5-7 business days
Published: Beach Lane Books - August 4th, 2020

Okay, as Avid's resident bird nerd, I'm a little biased on my love for this book. BUT it truly is a perfect introduction to birding for all ages. Ward instructs readers to not only look all around (and not just up!), but to get quiet and still and listen — you'll find more birds with your ears than with your eyes! Sudkya's expressive illustrations are delightful, turning an instructive book into a seek-and-find game as birds swoop and perch and hide all over the spreads. Sure to inspire kids (and adults!) to get outside and find some feathered friends.


Comet in Moominland (Moomins #2) Cover Image
By Tove Jansson, Tove Jansson (Illustrator), Elizabeth Portch (Translated by)
$7.99
ISBN: 9780312608880
Availability: May be on our shelves or available in 5-7 business days
Published: Square Fish - April 27th, 2010

This is the first in a series that is dear to my heart. Though technically it is the second book--the first, The Moomins and the Great Flood, was intially only published in the UK--it is still a wonderful introduction to the myriad inhabitants of Moominvalley. On the surface, this is an apocalyptic adventure, but at its heart it's a celebration of community and friendship. The entire Moomintroll series is something to be savored--I come back to it time and time again to find the whimsy, inclusiveness, and magic that the real world lacks.


Staff Pick Badge
The Pushcart War Cover Image
By Jean Merrill, Ronni Solbert (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9781590179369
Availability: May be on our shelves or available in 5-7 business days
Published: NYRB Kids - September 29th, 2015

The Pushcart War is a little book of metafictional genius--a deadpan journalistic take on a "war" between puschcart peddlers and truck drivers in New York City glorifies the beauty of small mischiefs and peaceful resistance in overcoming powerful bullies. Fun and silly and simultaneously deadly serious, Merrill's novel provides readers with a creative blueprint for social justice that is just as relevant today as it was in the 1960s.


Staff Pick Badge
Braiding Sweetgrass Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781571313560
Availability: In our warehouse - should ship in 5-7 business days.
Published: Milkweed Editions - September 1st, 2014

Read Braiding Sweetgrass and let it hold your heart, singing a truth from deep within the earth, from the soil and roots and the gifts they give us. Kimmerer's prose is pure poetry and is devastating and beautiful in equal measure, and with it she reminds us that we humans are inextricably bound to the fate of all living things, giving reasons both scientific and sacred. 


Staff Pick Badge
How to Do Nothing: Resisting the Attention Economy Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9781612197494
Availability: May be on our shelves or available in 5-7 business days
Published: Melville House - April 9th, 2019

Don't let the title fool you--this book is a call to action. It is not a delete-your-account, throw-your-phone-away, go-live-in-the-woods kind of disengagement Odell is calling for. It is one in which we refuse to engage in a for-profit, attention-sapping game and instead turn to one another and to the places we inhabit to ground ourselves and open to an attention that sees us as beings who are inextricably bound to the fate of everyone and and everything around us.


Staff Pick Badge
A Stranger in Olondria Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781931520768
Availability: May be on our shelves or available in 5-7 business days
Published: Small Beer Press - April 30th, 2013

Immersive and deftly-written, A Stranger in Olondria is a love song to books and the lives (and souls) contained within them. With delicious turns of phrase and world-building on par with Ursula Le Guin, readers won't want this story to end. I know I didn't!